In 1971, The Hill Country Rehabilitation House, Inc backed a non-profit voluntary health facility to a Halfway House for substance abuse in Kerrville. The first facility was at the corner of Tivy and Jefferson, a home originally built in the 1890's for newspaper publisher J E Ginstead and owned by St. Peter's Episcopal Church. In 1985, the church offered it to the State Hospital on the condition that it be moved. They accepted and moved it to its present location off Lemos St, 114 Texas Circle. The facility opened in September 1986 with the assistance of the State Hospital and with two HCRH house managers, Fred Reeves and Norman Turner.
Initially, 30-90 days stay in a recovery house was recommended but experience has indicated the longer the stay, the better the chance for lifelong recovery. Recommended stay is now 12-18 months. Rules of the house remain that they must work and attend AA meetings on a regular basis.
In 1990, after one and a half years as a totally independent operation, HCRH Board members including Ed Wallace and B J McBride, began an appeal to create an endowment fund, which continues today enabling residents to stay at a reasonable cost. Donations to the endowment fund are welcome as are any other donations, which are always needed for continued operation/maintenance of this much needed facility. In 1998, the Board added the name Norman Turner House, as it is commonly known today, in recognition of his years of service to this facility.
Hill Country Rehabilitation, Inc.
114 Texas Circle
Kerrville, Texas 78028